Brentwood Recovery Names New Board of Directors


Twelve alumni members and four from the community have been chosen to govern Brentwood Recovery Home.

The Erie St. Clair Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) dissolved the Brentwood board back in March and appointed consultant Mark Walton to oversee a revision of the recovery home's policies and procedures.

That's after a review found issues with governance, organizational culture and how the organization resolves complaints.

Walton says new chair Dr. Sonja Grbevski will help usher in a new direction when it comes to mental health services.

"Sonja works as a vice president responsible for mental health and addictions at Hôtel-Dieu Grace Health Care," he says. "She's an accomplished health service executive, but also one who has been working with us on redeveloping our model of care and really helping us to position are strategic plan moving forward."

Grbevski brings a lot to the table according to Walton, who says "A great deal of depth, passion and commitment with respect to Brentwood and even has some association with Brentwood through other family members."

Walton says a new five year plan is already underway to improve mental health programs, organizational structure, patient outreach and privacy rules.

A rebranding is also in the works, according to Walton, that includes a new logo featuring trees to show the cycle each life everyone goes through at Brentwood.

"We're trying to rejuvenate promote growth and a health life," he says. "A new look, a new group of directors on a new board and a new strategy with some really exciting things that are taking us forward."

Zane Handyside will serve as vice chair with Monica Staley-Liang stepping in as treasurer and Criss Ann Ellis-Sandre taking over as secretary.

Dairn Baker, Mark Caron, Ken Courtnay, Janis Cramp, Ervin Keczem, Greg Labord, Norma MacDonald, Bryan Marshall, Priya Philip, Donna Ryan, William Thibodeau, and Klaas Van Wieren were all named as directors.

The new board will now need to name an executive director and implement the new strategic plan.

They'll officially assume governance on Oct. 7.