Djokovic Wins 8th Australian Open

am800-sports-tennis-australian open-novak-djokovic

Novak Djokovic has won a record-extending eighth Australian Open championship, beating Dominic Thiem 6-4, 4-6, 2-6, 6-3, 6-4.  No other man in the history of tennis has won this tournament more than six times.

It's the 17th Grand Slam title for Djokovic, who has five titles from Wimbledon, three from the U.S. Open and one from the French Open.

Only Roger Federer, with 20, and Rafael Nadal, with 19, have won more men's Grand Slam singles trophies.

Djokovic's victory means he will return to No. 1 in the rankings, replacing Nadal.

Thiem, who was appearing in his third major final, has lost them all.