Hamlin Wins at Talladega

am800-sports-nascar-motor sports-car racing-hamlin-

Denny Hamlin finally got a playoff win in a messy wreck-fest that took three overtimes, the longest race in Talladega Superspeedway history.

Hamlin made the winning pass on the 200th lap with a three-wide sweep coming out of the fourth turn.

The Daytona 500 winner had the throttle open on the No. 11 Toyota to nip Matt DiBenedetto and Erik Jones at the finish line.

DiBenedetto was dropped to 21st in the final finishing order. NASCAR penalized him for forcing William Byron below the line in the third overtime.

The race was 12 laps and 32 miles longer than scheduled.

Erik Jones finished second with Ty Dillon, William Byron and Chase Elliott rounding out the top-five.