NB Liberal party to elect new leader on Saturday

Liberal party logo

The New Brunswick Liberal party will elect a new leader this weekend.

A leadership convention in Fredericton will begin at 12 p.m. on Saturday, with voting scheduled to start at 2 p.m.

There are four contenders for the position, including former MLA Donald Arseneault, Shediac Bay-Dieppe MLA Robert Gauvin, former MP for Tobique-Mactaquac T.J. Harvey and Susan Holt, a former adviser to Brian Gallant's Liberal government.

For the first time, the New Brunswick Liberal Party is using a ranked preferential balloting system to elect its leader.

Voters will rank their choice of preferred candidates from one to four.

If after the first round of voting a candidate doesn't achieve a result of 50%+1, the candidate with the lowest number will be dropped. Voting from the ranked ballot will continue to be reallocated until a candidate achieves a majority and becomes the new leader.

The party says results will be announced in 15 minute intervals between each required round. 

(With files from CTV Atlantic's Nick Moore)

Check out what we've been playing