LISTEN: Metal supergroup rocks Aerosmith classic


Metal supergroup BPMD has released their cover of Aerosmith's "Toys in the Attic".

The band is comprised of Bobby Blitz (Overkill), Mike Portnoy (Sons of Apollo), Mark Menghi (Metal Allegiance), and Phil Demmel (formerly from Machine Head). The band's acronym-based name represents each member: Blitz, Portnoy, Menghi, Demmel.

The raucous track is just one of several covers that will be part of their upcoming album, American Made.


Asked about the cover, frontman Bobby Blitz comments, "I remember waaaaaaaaaaay back when Overkill formed, we were cutting our teeth on covers as I was finding my way around the mic. The Aerosmith covers were right in my wheelhouse, so when Mike [Portnoy] picked 'Toys' to cover, I was like... 'Hell Yea'!"

Guitarist Phil Demmel goes on, “It was tricky because Aerosmith have two guitarists, Joe Perry and Brad Whitford, playing different things. So, as one guitar player, I had to pick a medium place between the two that sounded good. I thrashed it up a little by adding a lot of down picking and some gallops and triplets.”

American Made is set to be released on June 12 via Napalm Records.


  1. “Wang Dang Sweet Poontang”
  2. “Toys in the Attic”
  3. “Evil”
  4. “Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers”
  5. “Saturday Night Special”
  6. “Tattoo Vampire”
  7. “DOA”
  8. “Walk Away”
  9. “Never in My Life”
  10. “We're an American Band”

Artist Radio

Listen to music from Overkill, Sons of Apollo, Machine Head