Conservatives take clean sweep of local ridings, majority in N.B. General Election

Progressive Conservative New Brunswick

New Brunswick Progressive Conservative Leader Blaine Higgs' gamble to call an election in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic paid off as he was handed a majority government Monday night.

With all votes counted, Elections New Brunswick has confirmed the Progressive Conservatives have won 27 ridings, two more than the required 25 to govern alone.

These included the ridings of Carleton-York, Carleton and Carleton-Victoria.

Richard Ames retained the Carleton-York seat by 3,226 votes after incumbent Conservative Carl Urquart opted for retirement over re-offering.

Conservative candidate Bill Hogan won the riding of Carleton with 3,536 while Margaret Johnson stole the Carleton-Victoria riding from incumbent Liberal Andrew Harvey by a slim margin of 391 votes.

The Liberals have the next largest caucus after winning 17 ridings Monday night, but will have to go forward without their leader.

Leader Kevin Vickers resigned after failing to secure a seat in the riding of Miramichi, while Progressive Conservative Leader Blaine Higgs was re-elected in Quispamsis.

Rounding out the New Brunswick legislature are three Green Party MLAs, including re-elected party leader David Coon, and two MLAs from the People's Alliance, including leader Kris Austin, who retained his seat in Fredericton-Grand Lake.