Meet the Ontario election candidates in Pembroke and the area


Ontario's election campaign is set to officially start today.

The lieutenant-governor accepted Premier Doug Ford's advice to dissolve provincial parliament yesterday, and formally declared June 2nd as the date of the election.

Here's a look at the local candidates for each riding:


Population: 103,495 (as of 2016 Census)

Green Party: Anna Dolan
Liberal Party: (no candidate)
Progressive Conservative Party: John Yakabuski (Incumbent)
New Democrats: Kurt Stoll


Progressive Conservative John Yakabuski won the 2018 election, receiving 69 per cent of the vote. The long-time Member of Provincial Parliament has represented the riding of Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke since 2003. Yakabuski was appointed the Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry by Premier Doug Ford. In 2021, he was moved to the Parliamentary Assistant to the Premier.

Election day is June 2nd. 

With files from the Canadian Press and CTV News Ottawa's Josh Pringle