LISTEN: System Of A Down Releases New Music


System Of A Down has released a pair of songs – the band’s first in 15 years – to raise awareness of the conflict raging between Artsakh and Azerbaijan.

“For over the past month, civilians young and old have been awakened day and night by the frightful sights and sounds of rocket attacks, falling bombs, missiles, drones and terrorist attacks,” read a statement from the members of System Of A Down, all of whom have Armenian roots.

“There is an immediate need for global citizens to urge their respective governments to not only condemn the actions of these crooked dictators, but to also insist world leaders act with urgency to bring peace to the region and rightfully recognize Artsakh as the independent nation it is.”

The new songs – “Protect The Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz” – were written and produced by guitarist Daron Malakian. Proceeds from downloads of the tracks via SOAD’s Bandcamp page will be donated to the Armenia Fund.

Frontman Serj Tankian called what is happening to the Armenian people “a human rights violation and war crime.”

He added: “All of us in System realize this is an existential battle for our people, so this is very personal for us. What we need right now is for the world to put politics aside and support Armenia by sanctioning Turkey and Azerbaijan and recognizing Artsakh.”

System Of A Down hasn't released an album since 2005's Hypnotize.

Check out the two songs below:

Artist Radio

Listen to music from System of a Down