Twelve New Brunswickers to receive Life Saving Awards Wednesday

(Facebook/St. John Ambulance Saint-Jean New Brunswick/Nouveau-Brunswick)

Twelve New Brunswickers are to be honoured for their acts of bravery at an Investiture and Life Saving Awards Ceremony on Wednesday.

St. John Ambulance says it will present a Gold-Life Saving Award to Michael McCaig, who helped save an adult and two children from drowning when their vehicle became partially submerged in water in Saint John in March.

Dan McKeil (along with Stuart Cropley and Quintin Turnbull, who cannot attend Wednesday's ceremony) will receive a Silver-Life Saving Award for aiding McCaig in rescuing the two children from the partially submerged vehicle.

Silver-Life Saving Awards are also being presented to Abby Cochrane, Kyle Emberly, Monica Lanteigne, Richard Trecartin, and Kyle Tucker, who worked together to perform first aid and CPR on a racer who collapsed at the start line of the James Wilde Memorial Races in Fredericton in February last year.

Fernand Dorias (and Raymond Losier, who cannot attend the ceremony) woke sleeping teenagers in a house on fire in Four Roads, and Keith Scott fashioned a tourniquet to stop a biker bleeding to death when she broke her leg in July 2019.

Sergeant Sylvia Summerville is being honoured after she performed back thrusts to save a newborn's life in May 2020.
Michael Burley (and Nickolas Roby, who cannot attend the ceremony) saved an elderly woman from a burning vehicle in Fredericton in January 2019 and Brody Hudson used abdominal thrusts to save the life of a man who was choking at the Diplomat restaurant in Fredericton in June 2019.

In addition, the Honourable Brenda Murphy O.N.B. Lieutenant Governor of New Brunswick, will be installed as the Vice-Prior of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem for the province of New Brunswick.