Halsey Keeps Fans Guessing With 'Manic' Track List


Halsey on Tuesday revealed the track list for her forthcoming album Manic – and it has left fans with a few questions.

The pop star’s third studio album and first since 2017’s Hopeless Fountain Kingdom includes previously released singles “Without Me,” “Graveyard” and “Clementine” but not “Nightmare.”

In an interview with Rolling Stone published in June, Halsey spoke about the song. “When was the last time you turned on the radio and heard a girl screaming, yelling, angry about something? That’s why I love Alanis,” she said. “I want to turn on the radio and hear a young woman be like, ‘F**k no!’ You know what I mean? Especially right now.”

But while “Nightmare” isn’t on Manic, the album does include a track titled “Alanis’ Interlude.” Though it has been reported as a collaboration with the Canadian singer, there has been no immediate confirmation from either Halsey or Morissette (although Halsey tagged Morissette in the post).

Also among the 16 tracks Halsey shared via a 20-second video on social media is “Dominic’s Interlude” and "Suga's Interlude." Halsey tagged the post with Dominic Fike (whose “Phone Numbers” video features a cameo by her) and Suga's group BTS (who featured her on a “Boy With Luv” remix).

Fans are also pointing out that the album does not take its name from the title of one of its songs. But it, along with tracks like “You Should Be Sad” and “I Hate Everybody,” are likely inspired by the mental health issues Halsey has been so open about. (There’s also a song called “Ashley,” which is the pop star’s real first name.)

Manic is out Jan. 17, 2020.

Check out the track list below:

  1. Ashley
  2. Clementine
  3. Graveyard
  4. You Should Be Sad
  5. Forever... (Is a Long Time)
  6. Dominic's Interlude
  7. I Hate Everybody
  8. 3 AM
  9. Without Me
  10. Finally // Beautiful Stranger
  11. Alanis' Interlude
  12. Killing Boys
  13. Suga's Interlude
  14. More
  15. Still Learning
  16. 929
View this post on Instagram

January 17, 2020

A post shared by halsey (@iamhalsey) on

Artist Radio

Listen to music from Halsey