LISTEN: New Unreleased Prince Track ‘Deliverance’ Surfaces Ahead Of EP

A new, six-track Prince EP will be released this Friday (Apr. 21). Titled Deliverance, it’s a tribute released on the one-year anniversary of the singer’s death and contains songs recorded between 2006 and 2008 – when Prince wasn’t signed to any label out of protest.

Already, we’re treated to the title track, a sprawling, electric guitar laced song reminiscent of Prince’s best.

The EP will include a four-movement medley of "I Am," along with "Touch Me," "Sunrise Sunset" and "No One Else." The majority of proceeds will go to benefit the Prince estate.

"I believe Deliverance is a timely release with everything going on in the world today and in light of the one-year anniversary of his passing,” the EP’s former mixing and recording engineer Ian Boxill said in a statement. “I hope when people hear Prince singing these songs it will bring comfort to many.”

MORE: Documents Suggest Prince Was Hooked On Prescription Opioids

“Prince once told me that he would go to bed every night thinking of ways to bypass major labels and get his music directly to the public,” Boxill continues. “When considering how to release this important work, we decided to go independent because that’s what Prince would have wanted.”

Listen to “Deliverance” below: